Journey to Coding

Farah Malik
2 min readDec 14, 2020

--

My journey to coding started with my passion for Education. I have been a teacher for over ten years and realized the lack of online resources for reading for elementary children. I was a literacy teacher for my son and had to search extensively to find online resources to help him gain fluency in reading and spelling. I only found websites and apps that were poorly developed and didn’t provide the essentials to help him reach mastery in reading comprehension and spelling. These experiences lead me to gain interest in learning programming so I could develop apps and websites that would help parents and teachers instill the love of reading in their students and successfully aid in reaching fluency.

During my years of teaching, I have developed many methods to help increase the love of reading in my students. I found that if the students were given manipulative, their attention span and engagement increased. I want to transform those programs into a digital resource library. When the global pandemic hit the United States, we saw the great need of digital resources in Education. Our schools and universities were not equipped with the right technologies to keep up with the demand of the students and parents. Online learning became an imperative part of our society and our educators had to shift gears very quickly.

Since the outbreak of COVID19, we have seen an increased interest in online learning. Parents and teachers, both alike, are in desperate need of online resources to help keep their students on track. The lack of helpful website and apps, is adding to the frustration of students falling behind in their education. This pandemic has made me even more content to learn and transform my own resources into a digital format. I want to create online programs that will be easily accessible to parents and teachers and will aid them in teaching literacy to their students.

--

--